Five questions about the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)-training

posted in: Security | 0

Global Knowledge has received the Elite-status from cybersecurity-organization ISACA. Because of our accreditation we can offer you the Certified Information Security Management (CISM)-training and the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)-training with an exam voucher and online practice-questions included.

De onderscheiding van ISACA

You obviously want to know what you can expect of a training course before you book one. At Global Knowledge, Tjeerd Veninga is our cybersecurity-expert. In this article he’ll answer five frequently asked questions about the Certified Information Security Manager-training.

What domains are part of a CISM-training?

During a CISM-training you’re trained to think like a Security Manager: in risks. However, we don’t just limit ourselves to risks, you also learn how to minimize these risks in line with the goals of your organization. A Certified Information Security Manager understands your business and makes sure the technology has a safe structure and supports the business at the same time.

The training course consists of four domains. The exam contains questions about each of these domains. The exams always link in with current affairs, the materials aren’t far-fetched: these situations could unfold in your organization. The four domains are:

Information Security Governance
The training teaches you how to build a information security governance framework. You learn how to make sure the framework meets the goals of the organization. That way, the information within your organization is kept in the right place.

Information risk management and compliance
After this part we’ll move forward to risk-management. How do you make sure all the security-risks your organization faces are minimized to an acceptable level?

Information security program development and management
In the third domain we dive into implementing and managing information security strategies that fit your organization.

Information security incident management
You learn how to set up a plan so you can react instantly if things go wrong. It’s damage control for your organization.

What makes ISACA different?

ISACA stands for Information Systems Audit and Control Association. It’s an international professional organization specialized in IT-governance, IT-auditing, information security and automation risk management.

ISACA is celebrating its’ 50 year anniversary this year. The organization is part of a large community. More than 7000 have gotten their CISM-certification. ISACA is active in more than 70 countries and has more than 170 sections.

What should I know before I enter this training course?

There are no admission requirements for this training course, however, you should have enough practical experience if you want to get certified after the training course. We’ll tell you more about that in the answer of the next question.

What happens after the training course?

After the training course you can take the CISM-exam to gain your CISM-certification. Global Knowledge offers the training including the exam and questions you can practice with online.

But to get certified afterwards you need 5 years of relevant working experience in at least two of the CISM-domains (see question 1). You’ll find all the requirements here.

Why should I take a CISM-training course at Global Knowledge?

Global Knowledge is ISACA Elite-partner. This means we can always provide you with the most relevant course material and it is taught by experienced trainers. The exam is included in the price of the training and it gives you immediate access to the online practice questions.

Do you still have questions after reading this article? Reach out to your accountmanager at Global Knowledge or to Tjeerd Veninga, our Business Development Manger Cybersecurity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *